

ASPIRA Board of Directors Special Board Meeting Wednesday, May 15, 2024 Minutes

1. <u>Call to Order an Reading of the Standing Rules</u>: Chairwoman Alvarez called the meeting to order at 6:39 pm

Sonia Sanchez, Board Liaison, read the Board of Directors Standing Rules for Board Meetings out loud for the record.

2. <u>Roll Call</u>: Secretary Yuqui called roll and a quorum was determined to be present.

Present:

Absent:

Luis Diaz-Perez, Director (Excused) Anthony Pritchett, High School Rep

Dr. Armen Alvarez, Director Debra Cruz, Director Dr. Rosanna Diaz, Secretary Yolanda Frontany, Director Gabriela Gonzalez, Director - College Rep Rosemary Lugo-Gross, V.C. for Personnel Luis Martinez, V.C. for Development Marco Morales, Director David Rodriguez, Treasurer / Finance Chair Cynthia Yuqui, Director-Parent Member

 Approval of the Agenda
 R. Diaz made a motion to approve the agenda. Seconded D. Cruz Motion prevailed unanimously.

- 4. Public Comments:
 - Juan Elias spoke in support of Mr. Lopez CEO appointment
 - Cassandra Cardenas spoke in support of Mr. Lopez CEO appointment
 - Mr. Rivero spoke in support of Mr. Lopez CEO appointment
 - Katie Schmitt spoke in support of Mr. Lopez CEO appointment
 - Jomar Irizarry spoke in support of Mr. Lopez CEO appointment
- 5. <u>Organization of Standing Committees / Appointment of Chairs and Members</u>: Secretary Yuqui read the Committee Descriptions, Roles and Responsibilities for the record.

Chairwoman Alvarez announced the following Standing Committees and Chairs of each committee:

- A. <u>Executive Committee</u>
 Chair: Dr. Armen Alvarez, Chairwoman
 The members are the officers of the board: M. Morales, Y. Frontany, R. Lugo-Gross, D. Rodriguez, C. Yuqui
- B. <u>Program Committee</u>
 Chair: Marco Morales, Vice-Chair for Programs
 Members to be determined by M. Morales

C. <u>Personnel Committee</u> Chair: Yolanda Frontany, Vice-Chair for Personnel Members to be determined by Y. Frontany

- D. <u>Development Committee</u> Chair: Rosemary Lugo-Gross, Vice-Chair for Development Members to be determined by R. Lugo-Gross
- E. <u>Finance Committee</u> Chair: David Rodriguez, Treasurer Members to be determined by D. Rodriguez
- F. <u>Education Committee</u> Chair: Dr. Rosanna Diaz Members to be determined by R. Diaz

G. Student Affairs Committee

Chair: Gabriela Gonzalez, Student Director Members to be determined by G. Gonzalez Roles and Responsibilities of the Student Affairs Committee are pending input from the students of the different ASPIRA Schools and Clubs

H. <u>Parent Affairs Committee</u>
 Chair: Cynthia Yuqui, Parent Director
 Members to be determined by C. Yuqui
 Roles and Responsibilities of the Parent Affairs Committee are pending input
 from the parents of students attending the different ASPIRA Schools.

6. Closed Session

M. Morales made a motion to enter closed session to consider The appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees, specific individuals who serve as independent contractors, specific volunteers, or legal counsel for Aspira. 5ILCS 120/2(c)(1). Seconded by D. Cruz. Motion passed unanimously.

7. Return to Open Session: 8:47 pm

8. Approval of CEO Contract

C. Yuqui made a motion to approve the Chief Executive Officer Agreement with Mr. Edgar Lopez for the time period of June 1, 2024 to June 30, 2027. Seconded by M. Morales. Motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Edgar Lopez made remarks thanking the board, staff and family for their support.

9. Adjournment